Page 1 of 1

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 20 Aug 2011, 22:47
by Stoker
Mchat on Portal
Written by Stoker

Putting the mchat on the portal page is quite easy. You need to have the mchat mod installed.
Lets start with the template edits

Open styles/prosilver/template/simpleportal_body.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%">
Before add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_MCHAT_ENABLE and S_MCHAT_ON_INDEX and S_MCHAT_LOCATION --><!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --><!-- ENDIF -->
Find:

Code: Select all

</table>
After add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_MCHAT_ENABLE and S_MCHAT_ON_INDEX and not S_MCHAT_LOCATION --><!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --><!-- ENDIF -->
Open portal.php
Find:

Code: Select all

page_header($user->lang['PORTAL_HEADLINE']);
Before add:

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod
$mchat_installed = (!empty($config['mchat_version']) && !empty($config['mchat_enable'])) ? true : false;
if ($mchat_installed && $auth->acl_get('u_mchat_view'))
{
	if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE') && $config['mchat_on_index'] && !empty($user->data['user_mchat_index']))
	{
		define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
		$mchat_include_index = true;
		include($phpbb_root_path . 'mchat.' . $phpEx);
	}	

	if (!empty($config['mchat_stats_index']) && !empty($user->data['user_mchat_stats_index']))
	{
		if (!function_exists('mchat_users'))
		{
			include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_mchat.' . $phpEx);
		}
		// Add lang file
		$user->add_lang('mods/mchat_lang');
		// stats display
		$mchat_session_time = !empty($config_mchat['timeout']) ? $config_mchat['timeout'] : 3600;// you can change this number to a greater number for longer chat sessions
		$mchat_stats = mchat_users($mchat_session_time);
		$template->assign_vars(array(
			'MCHAT_INDEX_STATS'	=> true,
			'MCHAT_INDEX_USERS_COUNT'	=> $mchat_stats['mchat_users_count'],
			'MCHAT_INDEX_USERS_LIST'	=> $mchat_stats['online_userlist'],
			'L_MCHAT_ONLINE_EXPLAIN'	=> $mchat_stats['refresh_message'],	
		));
	}
}	
// END mChat Mod
Rich has created a hook for the mchat, only available for his donators.
If you are using that one, skip the portal.php edit and edit the hook instead.

Open includes/hooks/hook_mchat.php
Find:

Code: Select all

if($user->page['page'] == 'index.'.$phpEx)
Replace with:

Code: Select all

if(($user->page['page'] == 'index.'.$phpEx) || ($user->page['page'] == 'portal.'.$phpEx))

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 29 Aug 2011, 05:11
by neuropass

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod
$mchat_installed = (!empty($config['mchat_on_index']) && !empty($config['mchat_enable'])) ? true : false;
if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE') && $mchat_installed && $auth->acl_get('u_mchat_view') && $user->data['user_mchat_index'])
{
	define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
	$mchat_include_index = true;
	include($phpbb_root_path . 'mchat.' . $phpEx);
}
// END mChat Mod

simply adding this to the portal.php wouldn't be enough to get mchat working? what's the benefit of the extra code and the other edit in the hook file?

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 29 Aug 2011, 07:31
by Stoker
neuropass wrote:

Code: Select all

// BEGIN mChat Mod
$mchat_installed = (!empty($config['mchat_on_index']) && !empty($config['mchat_enable'])) ? true : false;
if(!defined('MCHAT_INCLUDE') && $mchat_installed && $auth->acl_get('u_mchat_view') && $user->data['user_mchat_index'])
{
	define('MCHAT_INCLUDE', true);
	$mchat_include_index = true;
	include($phpbb_root_path . 'mchat.' . $phpEx);
}
// END mChat Mod

simply adding this to the portal.php wouldn't be enough to get mchat working?
No, you have to add the code I postet. Its testet and working.
neuropass wrote:what's the benefit of the extra code and the other edit in the hook
It makes the mchat work on portal ;)
Without it the mchat only will work on index.

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 29 Aug 2011, 18:41
by neuropass
I'm asking those questions , because I have mchat working only with the edit i posted above in the portal.php. (which are the same for the index.php page.


so it does work anyway. I thought there was some server load benefit or something with your edits.

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 29 Aug 2011, 18:45
by Stoker
The edit I have posted is for the latest mchat 1.3.5
Yours is an earlier version.

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 03 Nov 2011, 02:23
by Terr0r
it is possible to set the mChat on the simple portal

now is my qestion is it possible to get it like this
mchatportal.png
so yes how ? what must I do to get it like so as on the image

already thanks for the help :thumb:

Greets Terr0r

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 03 Nov 2011, 08:21
by Stoker
Insert the code after this:

Code: Select all

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td valign="top">

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 06 Nov 2011, 03:31
by Terr0r
that is not good take a look add the picture
chatportal.png
how can I fix that ?

already thanks for the help

Greets Terr0r

Mchat on Portal

Posted: 06 Nov 2011, 08:51
by Stoker
With the edits I provided for you:
portal.png