Page 1 of 1

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 17 Oct 2011, 21:24
by master412160
I have this seo mod installed and: http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/t ... words_mod/

Now the link above is the mod currenlty having the:

Code: Select all

<meta name="keywords" content="<!-- IF SEO_KEY -->{SEO_KEY}<!-- ENDIF -->" />
<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF SEO_DESC -->{SEO_DESC}<!-- ENDIF -->" />
My question is how to implement the edit of this mod:

Code: Select all

<meta name="keywords" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == "viewforum" -->{FORUM_SEO_KEY}<!-- ENDIF -->" />
<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == "viewforum" -->{FORUM_SEO_DESC}<!-- ENDIF -->" />
Into the keywords and meta description in overall_header.php

Is it good for seo to offer all 4, instead of now two?

So you would have keywords for topic, forum
description for topic and forum

In total 4 types of seo data to be found for search engines.

Is it possible?

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 17 Oct 2011, 21:42
by Stoker
Try:

Code: Select all

<meta name="keywords" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == "viewforum" -->{FORUM_SEO_KEY}<!-- ELSEIF SEO_KEY -->{SEO_KEY}<!-- ENDIF -->" />
<meta name="description" content="<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == "viewforum" -->{FORUM_SEO_DESC}<!-- ELSEIF SEO_DESC -->{SEO_DESC}<!-- ENDIF -->" />

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 21 Oct 2011, 18:29
by master412160
Edited the overall_header.php, how do I know it works?

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 21 Oct 2011, 18:54
by Stoker
Check them by viewing source on viewtopic and viewforum.

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 28 Jan 2012, 10:00
by raghavmitra
I also have this seo mod installed too but i can't see any seo description or the keywords in the posts i make.
Sorry for the newbie question but what may possibly be wrong . I uninstalled and installed it a couple of time with no luck. :(

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 28 Jan 2012, 16:24
by Stoker
raghavmitra wrote:I also have this seo mod installed too but i can't see any seo description or the keywords in the posts i make.
Sorry for the newbie question but what may possibly be wrong . I uninstalled and installed it a couple of time with no luck. :(
Look in the contrib folder for install instructions

How to get the meta description and keywords to work for

Posted: 08 Apr 2013, 06:12
by BarryV
Start looking for relevant and right keywords and meta description that suitable for your website to start the optimization to increase your site ranking in search engine.