Page 1 of 2

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 15:41
by slash
With this simple mod you can autorefresh your index forum page.

open:
/styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html

find:

Code: Select all

</head>
add before:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF not S_IS_BOT -->
<!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == 'index' --><meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5"/><!-- ENDIF -->
<!-- ENDIF -->
change 5 to change the time for autorefresh (in second)

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 15:56
by doktornotor
Erm... I would rather not comment on the idea itself but in case someone really insists on doing this, you must do this in overall_header.html itself, and before the closing </head> tag. To limit that to index page, you need to wrap that between <!-- IF SCRIPT_NAME == 'index' --><!-- ENDIF -->

:shock: :!:

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 16:39
by martin123456
Nice little server over load if there's a few site watchers lol

Tested with 2 seconds refresh and pushed my cpu right up on my server machine hate to think if there was a few watchers

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 21:52
by Vox Populi
When I was a NUB I tried auto refresh every 15 minutes but found it was not for me. Not in a forum. I do use it in a few parts of the main site and blog but forums?? Interferes too much with the users.

Mind you, I am not slamming what you are doing... It's your site. Just MO is all this is. Thanks for sharing too.

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 22:48
by FTH
Hi,

and if you add simply a bottom on your overall_footer ? ;)

example (for my code)

Open files styles/prosilver/overall_footer.html

Find :

Code: Select all

<div class="copyright">Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a>&reg; Forum Software &copy; phpBB Group
		<!-- IF TRANSLATION_INFO --><br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF DEBUG_OUTPUT --><br />{DEBUG_OUTPUT}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF U_ACP --><br /><strong><a href="{U_ACP}">{L_ACP}</a></strong><!-- ENDIF -->
	</div>
Replace with :

Code: Select all

	<div class="copyright">
	<form action="" method=post>
<p><input type=button name="bottom" value="{L_REFRESH}" onclick='parent.location="javascript:location.reload()"'>
</form></p>
	Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/">phpBB</a>&reg; Forum Software &copy; phpBB Group
		<!-- IF TRANSLATION_INFO --><br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF DEBUG_OUTPUT --><br />{DEBUG_OUTPUT}<!-- ENDIF -->
		<!-- IF U_ACP --><br /><strong><a href="{U_ACP}">{L_ACP}</a></strong><!-- ENDIF -->
	</div>
Open files language/en/common.php

Find :

Code: Select all

'REDIRECTS'					=> 'Total redirects',
Add after :

Code: Select all

'REFRESH'					=> 'Refresh',
http://graphogames.fr/demo/index.php

See at the bottom on board and click on button "Refresh" ;)

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 22:54
by Vox Populi
Now you're talking! Nice work and simple. Me like :)

That turns the control over to the user.

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 22:54
by Solidjeuh
F5 ? :P

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 22:58
by Vox Populi
Solidjeuh wrote:F5 ? :P
That too... :)

Danke.

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 23:23
by martin123456
Solidjeuh wrote:F5 ? :P
And if you cant be assed to lift a finger click refresh in the browser lol

Phpbb Autorefrash

Posted: 04 Jan 2012, 23:28
by Vox Populi
Or record a macro that does it for you... Oh, this can go on forever.