Page 1 of 2

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 19:14
by kevinva
Hello,

This is kind of a long shot, but I figured I’d ask over here, just in case you know of a workaround.

I’m running wordpress with phpbb, by way of WP-United. Mantra is my wp theme, so WP-United wraps Mantra/wordpress around phpBB. So this means that all of the menus created in WordPress/Mantra can be accessed while I’m browsing the forum.

This is where Top Stats comes into play. I can utilize this mod in phpBB, but when I do, all of my drop-down menus from wordpress stop working. As soon as I browse to another page on the forum (a forum without the script running), all of my drop-down menus work again.

I believe the menu utilizes jquery and I know that Top Stats does, as well. So, I think there's a conflict between the two. If I disable Top Stats, the menus work. If I turn on Top Stats, the menus stop working.

Do you know if it’s possible to run two instances of jquery on the same page, at the same time? If so, is there something I can do to make both work correctly?

Thanks very much,

Kevin

I can't post the URL to my forum, so you can check it out, but let me know if you need the link and I'll try to post it via PM or something.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 19:42
by Stoker
Its probably this line in overall_header.html that does the terror:

Code: Select all

<script src="{ROOT_PATH}script/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
Remove it and see if it helps.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 19:48
by kevinva
Ok, just tried that, refreshed the template files & purged the cache. That fixed the menu, but now, neither the ticker, nor the scroll will work anymore.

Now it just lists all 5 active topics at the top, but it won't do anything.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 20:12
by Stoker
You can post a link to your forum now.
Make sure to enable the mod so I can see it it action on your site.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 21:12
by kevinva

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 21:17
by Stoker
Im not sure what the problem is because Im not able the read all the scripts included by WP, sorry.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 21:22
by kevinva
Nuts. Is there anything I can do to help you see what scripts are used by WP?

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 10 Aug 2013, 21:31
by Stoker
No, the problem is that I dont understand how it works.

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 11 Aug 2013, 05:46
by kevinva
Ah, ok, gotcha'. Thanks anyway, Stoker, I appreciate the help. =]

Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts

Posted: 11 Aug 2013, 17:01
by RMcGirr83
It is probably because wp is including version 1.10.2 of jquery library which may or may not work with the menu and stokers mod. So try replacing the WP jquery with a google CDN like

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></script>
and remove the jquery that stoker told you.

https://developers.google.com/speed/lib ... ide#jquery