Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Hello,
This is kind of a long shot, but I figured I’d ask over here, just in case you know of a workaround.
I’m running wordpress with phpbb, by way of WP-United. Mantra is my wp theme, so WP-United wraps Mantra/wordpress around phpBB. So this means that all of the menus created in WordPress/Mantra can be accessed while I’m browsing the forum.
This is where Top Stats comes into play. I can utilize this mod in phpBB, but when I do, all of my drop-down menus from wordpress stop working. As soon as I browse to another page on the forum (a forum without the script running), all of my drop-down menus work again.
I believe the menu utilizes jquery and I know that Top Stats does, as well. So, I think there's a conflict between the two. If I disable Top Stats, the menus work. If I turn on Top Stats, the menus stop working.
Do you know if it’s possible to run two instances of jquery on the same page, at the same time? If so, is there something I can do to make both work correctly?
Thanks very much,
Kevin
I can't post the URL to my forum, so you can check it out, but let me know if you need the link and I'll try to post it via PM or something.
This is kind of a long shot, but I figured I’d ask over here, just in case you know of a workaround.
I’m running wordpress with phpbb, by way of WP-United. Mantra is my wp theme, so WP-United wraps Mantra/wordpress around phpBB. So this means that all of the menus created in WordPress/Mantra can be accessed while I’m browsing the forum.
This is where Top Stats comes into play. I can utilize this mod in phpBB, but when I do, all of my drop-down menus from wordpress stop working. As soon as I browse to another page on the forum (a forum without the script running), all of my drop-down menus work again.
I believe the menu utilizes jquery and I know that Top Stats does, as well. So, I think there's a conflict between the two. If I disable Top Stats, the menus work. If I turn on Top Stats, the menus stop working.
Do you know if it’s possible to run two instances of jquery on the same page, at the same time? If so, is there something I can do to make both work correctly?
Thanks very much,
Kevin
I can't post the URL to my forum, so you can check it out, but let me know if you need the link and I'll try to post it via PM or something.
- Stoker
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3536
- Joined: 12 May 2008, 23:26
- BBCodes: 239
- Favourite BBCode: Anipro
- Favourite MOD: PrettyPhoto
- Location: Denmark
- Contact:
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Its probably this line in overall_header.html that does the terror:
Remove it and see if it helps.
Code: Select all
<script src="{ROOT_PATH}script/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
Board rules! No PM support
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Ok, just tried that, refreshed the template files & purged the cache. That fixed the menu, but now, neither the ticker, nor the scroll will work anymore.
Now it just lists all 5 active topics at the top, but it won't do anything.
Now it just lists all 5 active topics at the top, but it won't do anything.
- Stoker
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3536
- Joined: 12 May 2008, 23:26
- BBCodes: 239
- Favourite BBCode: Anipro
- Favourite MOD: PrettyPhoto
- Location: Denmark
- Contact:
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
You can post a link to your forum now.
Make sure to enable the mod so I can see it it action on your site.
Make sure to enable the mod so I can see it it action on your site.
Board rules! No PM support
- Stoker
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3536
- Joined: 12 May 2008, 23:26
- BBCodes: 239
- Favourite BBCode: Anipro
- Favourite MOD: PrettyPhoto
- Location: Denmark
- Contact:
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Im not sure what the problem is because Im not able the read all the scripts included by WP, sorry.
Board rules! No PM support
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Nuts. Is there anything I can do to help you see what scripts are used by WP?
- Stoker
- Site Admin
- Posts: 3536
- Joined: 12 May 2008, 23:26
- BBCodes: 239
- Favourite BBCode: Anipro
- Favourite MOD: PrettyPhoto
- Location: Denmark
- Contact:
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
No, the problem is that I dont understand how it works.
Board rules! No PM support
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
Ah, ok, gotcha'. Thanks anyway, Stoker, I appreciate the help. =]
Jquery Conflict w/ other scripts
It is probably because wp is including version 1.10.2 of jquery library which may or may not work with the menu and stokers mod. So try replacing the WP jquery with a google CDN like
and remove the jquery that stoker told you.
https://developers.google.com/speed/lib ... ide#jquery
Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.3/jquery.min.js"></script>
https://developers.google.com/speed/lib ... ide#jquery